Moving on to Next Stage of Frozen Embryo Transfer and the Balancing Act of Parenthood

The Oscar goes to Progesterone!

The Oscar goes to Progesterone

Okay now onto the next phase.  I call this the final countdown!  Last week I was relieved to find out that my lining looked as they say “pretty”.  What they mean to say is my uterine lining looks healthy enough to implant an embryo.  I laughed out loud and said “pretty” really?  Okay that word alludes me but let’s go with it. The cyst on my left ovary has appeared to dissipate with the left still producing some follicles (egg production).  I tried to quiet them with lots of Lupron-ugh……the sonographer, although not privy to give me the last word somewhat told me it wouldn’t be an issue. Okay left ovary-cooperate. Your stopped in your tracks. The goal here is to stop egg production to “trick” the body into thinking it’s pregnant or will be pregnant.  I’d like to quote Dana Carvey’s character, Church Lady in this instance, “Isn’t this Fun?!”

The protocol I’m on calls for 8 more days of Progesterone (that 2 inch needle is for the birds) and Del Estrogen every 3rd night and Progesterone in Oil for the remainder of those days leading up to a pregnancy test.  Don’t give up I say.  It’s only temporary.  Did I mention my blood clotting disorder requires me to be on injections the duration of my pregnancy?  I used Lovenox in my last pregnancy; a very well-known blood thinner to keep the oxygen and blood flowing to the uterus.  This time around, because of my accelerated age (incredulous here) I will be wearing compression stockings which too aids in vein health.

If you had asked me in my 20’s would I be willing to go through something like this to have a child, I probably would have answered Heck No because I never thought of having children.  As a matter of fact, it wasn’t until I met my husband in my early 30’s did I decide that children would be in my future.

Emily's School Trip

Emily’s School Trip in 20008

There I was on a field trip with my stepdaughter Emily (pictured directly behind me).  I’ve always loved having children around but to take on more than my stepchildren, which is a job in of itself, was going to require that I move mountains.  I don’t want this blog to portray that life is easy or that I throw paint on furniture while my twin five-year old daughters watch copious amounts of television. That’s not the deal.  What I do is not easy.  My daughters are out in the garage with me while I work on projects so I have to naturally balance teaching them and work and for me, not anyone else, this takes some major skill sets!!

First you have to be PATIENT and find it in your patience purse to pull back and assess if what you’re doing is more important than missing those precious parent-child moments.  More often than not, I stop what I’m working on and come back to it later.  Sometimes it’s much later and other times, it’s at night when they’re sleeping.  It just depends.  I don’t want to miss a thing but I do want to put out there, I get flustered.

Being kind to yourself and your mother load is very important also, but you already know that right?  For me a shopping trip is just the key to improving my mood (yesterday).  It took some prying on my husband’s part but once I was out the door and in the mall, it was SUCCESS.  Let me just say that flannel shirt that I said I wouldn’t buy because I said I would never wear flannel, we’ll let’s just say the Lumberjack isn’t the only person who looks good in red and black flannel!  I bought it in a large just so if I grow out a bit, I’ve got room.  I will wear it with cozy black leggings in the Fall and duck boots. I will wear it proudly with or without a pregnancy.  I’m nervous about this coming Friday.  I’m now off to pursue a fertility acupuncture treatment.  I’m fortunate and blessed today that my husband is working from home and able to spend quality time with our daughters.  Thank you for reading my blog!  Happy Monday!

A Marshall's Bargain!

A Marshall’s Bargain!

2 thoughts on “Moving on to Next Stage of Frozen Embryo Transfer and the Balancing Act of Parenthood

  1. Justin

    these stories are becoming addicting, i might get fired If I don’t get any work done.
    Just wanted to say good luck to you guys and everything will work out. You are both great people and you deserve great things.
    I will keep you guys in my prayers.

    Like

Leave a comment